Es gibt ein Buch!

Posted on October 4, 2011

0


Contrary to what Buchhandlung Walther Koenig told me, there is a book on public art in Berlin (thank you Hester Oerlemans).

Not only is there one book, there is a book that precedes the book (it’s from 1990), soon to be delivered:

In my growing library is also this fascinating report of all the Kunst am Bau that was realised in the Grosssiedlung Marzahn and Hellersdorf, which is like the Dutch Bijlmer area. It documents a stunning 462 (!) pieces, realised within 30 years. Apparantly in the GDR they were very active with Kunst am Bau.

I will report soon on a field trip to this area – where I hope to find this particular sculpture:

it could be a conceptual piece but in fact the whole rest of it was stolen. I have a vague memory of this happening somewhere else, give us a shout if this rings a bell.

