Wowereit, a donut and two balls

Posted on September 12, 2011

1


An opening of a public art work – at monday morning 11 AM mind you – with the mayor of Berlin, an event I couldn’t miss of course. As I locked my bike I heard them say that public art was indeed very important, for the general non museum visiting audience to come in contact with art.

The crowd and mayor Wowereit…

A better look at the mayor and the sulpture: Tilted Donut Wedge with Two Balls by Fletcher Benton.

Some campaigners or protesters seized the opportunity for visiblity…

Then donuts were served and a lady from the public asked one of the politicians what the meaning of the art work was – in a way that implied she didn’t believe the meaning would be particularly relevant here…

Then the politicians and the funders seized their opportunity for visibility…

And as I left I noticed that at the other end of the park was another opportunity for public art waiting to be taken.

